Entries double at South Zeal car rally

Laura White
Laura White

The number of cars that entered the South Zeal Classic car rally this year was nearly double from last year. This year’s show saw old classics and futuristic cars such as the Volkswagen XL1.

Organised by Simon and Lyn Powell who run the Oxenham Arms in the centre of the village, the show brought hundreds of visitors to see the sixty or so cars on show. The money raised will be going to St Mary’s Church in South Zeal and to South Tawton Primary School.

Several cars had interesting stories behind them; ‘Ducky’ the Morris Minor was co-star with Hugh Grant and Ben Wishaw in the television drama ‘A Very English Scandal’. Polly Hawks who owns ‘Ducky’ said: “The producer told us not to wash the car, but it poured with rain as we drove to the location, so it was clean when we arrived, so the film crew had to use horse poo to make Ducky a bit grubby. Ducky is my pride and joy, she is fun to drive and is loved and cherished.”

Another very interesting car at the show was the Volkswagen XL1. There were only 250 of this futuristic looking car ever made, with 200 sold to the public, 23 sold in the UK. Made in 2015, the car’s fuel tank only holds 10 litres of fuel with fuel consumption of 313 miles to the gallon, so on a single tank of fuel you could drive from London to Newcastle and back on two gallons of fuel.

The car unveiled at the Qatar Motor Show in 2011 is the most fuel-efficient car ever built, but I don’t suppose that oil producers or the Inland Revenue want to hear that.

2019 South Zeal Classic Car and Bike Show Winners

Classic Cars
1st Prize Trophy winner – 1968 Ford Mustang Fastback candy apple red owned by Colin and Joan Banks
2nd Prize Trophy winner – 1936 Morris 8 back and green owned by Barry and Gwyneth Wiggins
3rd Prize Trophy winner – 1947 MG TC black reg GTG404 owned by Cameron Atkinson

Future Classic Cars
1st Prize Trophy winner – 2005 Ferrari California yellow owned by Brian and Enid Thompson
2nd Prize Trophy winner – 2001 VW XL1 Electric silver owned by Ed Stratton
3rd Prize Trophy winner – 2016 Mazda MX5 Recarro Red owned by Trevor Boyland

Classic Motorcycles
1st Prize Trophy winner- BSA Gold Flash with sidecar – Black owned by Pete Gilbert
2nd Prize Trophy winner – Royal Enfield continental – Black and Red owned by Jerry Stephens
3rd Prize Trophy winner – Triumph 500 – Silver owned by Graham Loram

Other Classic Vehicles
1st Prize –  Ford Model B Hotrod  owned by Mike Bull
2nd Prize – VW T5 Van owned by Ken and Ann Crawford

Local Life